Reviews

9.1
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.5
Comfort
9.0
Property Location
9.0
Facilities
9.1
Staff
9.1
Value
8.8

Reviews

    Linda
    gb

    Review Score

    8.8
    April 15, 2018

    Traditional Japanese Apartment and Stay; Great Location.

    Make sure to organize your key pick up arrangements a few days in advance (we had issues with delays in our emails getting through to/from us, which was not the owners' fault, nor ours). The futons were quite thin, so while better than sleeping directly on the floor, it was not a comfy bed, and did require some mobility in getting onto and off of the floor - but we knew this when we booked - we wanted the Japanese experience and we got it, which we enjoyed. But I say this because the experience is not for everyone. There is no toaster oven, so any toasties need to be done in a frying pan. But the ceramic frying pan is excellent - no need for oil or fat.
    Traditional Japanese apartment with a table and three chairs, a microwave, hot plate, sink and fridge, separate toilet, a separate wet room (Japanese bath/shower), a separate sink/washing machine room, and a tatami mad that held the three futons. Location was superb - near to temples/shrines and 3 minute walk to the subway and JR Nara line. Very enjoyable, cozy experience in a traditional Japanese apartment.
    Daniel
    cn

    Review Score

    9.6
    March 21, 2018
    Actually I like this hotel very much, so I would like to raise some comments. A bit far from subway station and convenient store. No hanger bar in the room for clothes.
    Spacious compared to Japanese hotel; Sleep on floor bed like a real Japanese live experience.
    Caroline
    au

    Review Score

    9.2
    December 6, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    id

    Review Score

    10
    December 5, 2017

    Excelent

    Nop
    All
    Caroline
    fr

    Review Score

    6.7
    May 20, 2018

    Stay in a well-located place, but small and with hardly any natural light.

    The main point is that the room/flat that we rented has 2 very small windows one of which that gives upon a wall. As a result the flat is very dark. The photographs are arranged with additional light. Also I did not expect the size of the flat. The evaluations that I read were very positive and it seemed like the flat was ok in size, but there 2 or 3 different flats in the block and the one we were in is very small, and it was not clear when we booked that this one was so small. Finally we do hear some of the train going by but the level of the sound is ok.
    The flat is well located 1 station away from the Kyoto station via train. It is also on the line to go to Nara, which is handy. It is a clean flat. The pick up to get to the flat and the keys also was efficient. The amenities are modern.
    ZHENG
    fr

    Review Score

    9.6
    May 16, 2018
    Wifi sometimes will lose connection.
    all is good, location is great. Clean, well-equipped apartment.
    amy septiarini
    id

    Review Score

    9.2
    May 12, 2018
    The checkin was a bit of a hassle for us because we need to meet at the station with the staff.
    The location is superb. Near the Tofokuji Station and convinient stores. The room was modern Japanese style, spacious for Japanese standard and spotless..
    Ilse
    jp

    Review Score

    8.8
    May 5, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Erica
    jp

    Review Score

    10
    May 4, 2018
    Everything is like in the photos, the house is close to the train station, everything is clean and new and can easily accommodate 5 people with no problem!
    SGIG
    au

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 24, 2018
    Portable WiFi didn’t work, no data
    Modern facilities, great location, cleanliness
    gb

    Review Score

    9.2
    April 2, 2018

    We had and amazing stay at COTO Tofukuji! Very easy to get to many tourist points in Kyoto.

    Lack of natural light, No clothes hangers
    Very good location, near the station.
    Abhishek
    jp

    Review Score

    8.8
    March 22, 2018

    Awesome place

    nothing in specific
    The pick-up facility, the room cleanliness and amenities everything was great
    pl

    Review Score

    5.8
    February 28, 2018

    Mixed feelings

    Just across the street from the building there are train tracks with trains running late into the night and since very early morning. The windows hardly stop any noise so comfortable sleep was out of question. The cleanliness could improve too. Bed linings, even though washed, bore marks of previous usage. Some dishes were not washed properly too. The checkin process requires you to keep in touch with the management in order to meet at the Kyoto central station. Bothersome in its own regard, it can be even more difficult if you have no internet connection or are arriving to the city via a different route then the Kyoto Station. Although the host has not been rude or anything, it is now a commonplace practice to leave the key to the apartment e.g. in a code-protected lock or meet with the guests at the property.
    Paul
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    February 26, 2018

    Very pleasant

    Have to get used to the traditional Japanese Futon bed.
    The location is great. Facilities were very clean. The host(s) were very nice and helpful.
    Ma Li
    tw

    Review Score

    8.3
    February 5, 2018
    Room is spacious
    Lo
    hk

    Review Score

    9.6
    January 28, 2018

    Price to value.

    The room is small. It will not be convenient for couple with big luggages.
    5 minuets walk to Tofukuji Station. Even though close to train station, it is very quiet at night. Eateries & 24hours convenient stores in the neighbourhood. Kitchen with basic equipment, washing machine & mini laundry rack are available. New & clean typical Japanese style bath room. It is very comfortable for us to stay 2 nights there.
    Fernanda
    br

    Review Score

    10
    January 24, 2018

    Excellent option for staying in Kyoto

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.
    The host is very friendly and the room is clean and cozy.
    Angela
    au

    Review Score

    9.2
    January 17, 2018

    A pleasant stay

    There was no natural light in this compact apartment - the windows were covered by straw mats during our stay (and even if they were not, the windows looked out onto neighbour buildings).
    The apartment was well-equipped and very clean. It is located out of the city centre but there is a train station nearby that linked us with the city centre as well as some of the key tourist sites. Communication with the host was easy, we were even picked up from Kyoto Station, which was much appreciated.
    Vanessa
    id

    Review Score

    10
    January 8, 2018
    It was a bit cold with only one aircon. It takes approximately a day to warm the whole room. Collecting the room key was also an issue, because the reception is a subway station away from the facility. I missed the welcome email, and waited for quite some time in front of the property. But staff was responsive enough to pick us up and helped with the check in.
    Room was huge for 4 adults and everything is new. WiFi was fast. The facility offers all the basic necessities, ie: kitchen and utensils, microwave, refrigerator, shampoo, soap, towel, washing machine and detergent, hair dryer, clothes hanger. It is very worthwhile to stay here. Highly recommended.
    Uan Uen Chn
    my

    Review Score

    10
    November 27, 2017
    Spotless, near to Tofukuji Station, only 1 stop away from Kyoto Station
Loading reviews...